What Type Of Scam Is This ??

The MG Experience ~ Off Topic Forum ~ Archives

General non-MG related discussions. No politics here please!!

If you would like to post a reply, please click below to visit the The MG Experience Forums:
Off Topic Forum: What Type Of Scam Is This ??
http://www.mgexperience.net/phorum/read.php?47,1029977,page=1

Join the discussion, post your photos, or ask your own questions. Membership is FREE!




Feb 11, 2009 04:25:08
Naomi

We have our Lincoln Continential for sale and have it advertised in the local newspaper and on a local TV Station Swap Shop Show. Yesterday we had a voice mail message from telephone number 402-694-3656 saying they had seen the ad and were interested in the car. Asked us to please send them a picture and details to email address tv4400@yahoo.com . I called the number back and the lady who answered said it was impossible for her to tell us who called because at that number they were a company who relayed telephone messages for those who are hearing impaired. Seemed odd but we went ahead and sent a message to the email address. Sometime during the night the following message was sent to us:

"Hello,
Thanks for the email me, And i will like to inform you that the payment will be check in view of this i will like you to email me all the necessary information needed to send the check to you.Regarding the shipping ,i have a personal shipper agent that takes good care of my consignments and ship them to there various destination ...So that my shipper agent will be at your place to pick up the" 1997 Lincoln "soon as the payment is received by you. The check will be in your name to make it easier for you to cash and as soon as you receive the check i will like you to cash them then deduct the money for the ( 2001 Lincoln ) and send the remaining balance to my shipper agent so he can contact you immediately for the pick up arrangement at your place.So here are the information needed for the payment to be mail out asap..

(1) Full Name
(2) Mailing address, no p.o.box please
(3) your direct telephone number
(4) acceptance of my offer
(5)Total Final price

Once you get back to me with all the above the check will be issued out immediately and it will be sent to you. Hope to hear from you immediately.

NB:I will be paying you additional $50 to you 2001 Lincoln for me"

I know it must be some type of scam but how does it work???? Recon I ought to send them the info just for fun and see what happens ???


Your turn :)

Feb 11, 2009 04:34:05
GT caretaker

VERY old scam...the check will bounce after you have sent the cash to his "shipper."


Even if your bank accepts it at first...it WILL eventually bounce and you will be liable for all you sent.

Don't even bother responding...unless you can send them a computer virus...





Feb 11, 2009 04:35:11
GT caretaker

Oh...I just saw you wondering whether to send your information just for fun...DON'T.

Feb 11, 2009 04:37:43
bk

GT caretaker Wrote:

Quote: "
VERY old scam...the check will bounce after you have sent the cash to his "shipper."
Even if your bank accepts it at first...it WILL eventually bounce and you will be liable for all you sent.
Don't even bother responding...unless you can send them a computer virus...
"


yup SCAM SCAM SCAM. I do like the idea of sending them a virus.

Feb 11, 2009 05:41:24
mabie1978

Been there and through that Na. We actually received the check after telling them not to because to start with they wanted the address to come and see the car. So you may get some that ask where it is, in order to check it out. If you get a check, like I did there is no return address on the original envelope. We located a phone number of the issuing bank and call them up to confirm there was no such account. After that I emailed the guy back and told him to try again that his check was drawn on a nonexistent account. He didn't like that.

Feb 11, 2009 05:48:08
twigworker

Ditto on lots of the above Naomi.

Also, just look at the sentence structure and word usage. It's a dead ringer for an overseas scam guy.

Putting something, anything, on Craigslist results in this to some degree or another.

Jack

Feb 11, 2009 06:20:26
Derek up North

Phone back that phone number and get the companies Address and main phone number. Send that info to the scammer! :)

Conversely, contact your local police and see if they have any interest in trying to bust a scammer. Probably not.

Feb 11, 2009 06:42:48
TVRPAUL

Contact the feds "Wire fraud"

Feb 11, 2009 06:52:03
tfisher7621

Na:

I agree with everything that has been said. Drop this like a hot potato.

Call me old fashioned but there is another reason I wouldn't warm to this email. Throughout, they use a small "i" for the pronoun "I" instead of capitalizing it. To me, that simply means they are lazy.

And for that reason, alone, I wouldn't do business with them.

Feb 11, 2009 07:07:05
blundgren

Scam.

http://800notes.com/Phone.aspx/1-402-694-3656

Feb 11, 2009 09:56:04
Bill MacTavish

What year is it Na? What's wrong with it? Lincoln Continental is one of Andrea's favourites. :-)

Feb 11, 2009 10:02:13
Stuart

Let me know when you're getting ready to sell the miata :)

Feb 11, 2009 10:14:13
Naomi

Bill the Lincoln is a 2001 -- you've rode in it before -- remember :)

Stuart -- The hubby does want me to sell the Miata but I don't want to :)

Feb 11, 2009 10:22:23
The Wiz

GT caretaker Wrote:

Quote: "
Oh...I just saw you wondering whether to send your information just for fun...DON'T.
"


Last time I got one of these I sent them the mailing address of the local police department.

This is an archived discussion from the The MG Experience Forums

If you would like to post a reply, please click below to visit the The MG Experience Forums:
Off Topic Forum: What Type Of Scam Is This ??


Archive Index | The MG Experience Forums | Return to The MG Experience