http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Convertable-1959-MG-Clean-Unique_W0QQitemZ130010085609QQihZ003QQcategoryZ31859QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
"Clean well cared for 1959 MG. White top with black interior. Original condition. The engine runs like a sewing machine and the body is in excellent condition. The car has slept in the garaged for the last 10 - 15 years. If a vintage vehicle is your desire don't miss this diamond!"
Doesn't look unique or clean to me. Not so sure the body is in excellent condition either. '...engine runs like a sewing machine...' that's a brilliant mechanical description of the car. And one picture.
Yours for a mere $75,000. Act quick, there's only 22 hours left on the auction.
Unique 1959 MGA convertable
The MG Experience ~ MGB & GT Forum ~ Archives
MG MGB and MGB GT Tech Talk
MGB & GT Forum: Unique 1959 MGA convertable
http://www.mgexperience.net/phorum/read.php?1,409573
Join the discussion, post your photos, or ask your own questions. Membership is FREE!
Janel, it's a scam. If you enter a bid amount it takes you to another page asking you to confirm your ebay name and password. If you click that link he harvests your ebay id and password...
And he calls it a Midget...
Part of the grille shell has been cut out! And the slats are bent! And the cheap-a$$ paint job (the fender welts were painted - a no-no)! And there appears to be rust bubbling aling the seam between the body and the driver fender! And IF it is a rust-free body in the sill and frame areas, AND if the floor boards aren't rotted or termite - eaten, it MIGHT be worth looking at in the $5-7K range. I think someone really made a decimal error on that starting bid.
Holy guacamole!
When I first saw it the other day I sent him a gentle messages indication that there might have been a clerical error in the starting bid price? No response came. Do you think that he could have harvested my eBay info from the gentle "ask seller a question"?
Dunderhead Jack here. I can never remember that no good deed goes unpunished. :-(
Jack
Well Jack, with your ebay id and password, it would be very simple to get into your 'account.' He could pull your credit card information (if you have a card 'registered' with them), your PayPal information, bid in your name...
I emailed eBay and suggested they look into this auction.
Oh. I don't have to worry about that - at least yet - Since I don't have an ebay acct.
Just last week someone listed a motorcycle under my ebay handle . Could not quite figure out how he/she was going to benefit from it but sure changed my password quick and informed ebay. Actually ended up talking to someone from ebay on the phone for an hour, it was the only real secure way of being sure I was me and he was he.
Stefanie Wrote:
Janel, it's a scam. If you enter a bid amount it takes you to another page asking you to confirm your ebay name and password. If you click that link he harvests your ebay id and password...
And he calls it a Midget...
"
Actually... it isn't a scam in that sense. That is a real auction on Ebay, and you must -always- login to your Ebay account in order to place a bid on any Ebay item (try it). This is perfectly normal. The login page you end up at when trying to bid on this auction is the legitimate Ebay login page. There is no way harvesting is happening here. Looks like an idiot, not a scammer.
-S
FYI:
****************************
This Listing Is Unavailable
This listing (#130010085609) has been removed or is no longer available. Please make sure you entered the right item number.
If the listing was removed by eBay, consider it canceled. Note: Listings that have ended more than 90 days ago will no longer appear on eBay.
Try searching for another item now.
********************************
Looks as though E-Bay has pulled this auction....
I listed two cars on ebay a couple of months back and got an email from somebody all excited about wanting to buy one of them. Didn't say which one. I was a sleep at the wheel and didn't realize his email failed to have the auction number in the title like it usually is whenever a reply is sent thru ebay. I clicked on the respond now box (the email page was set up exactly like a normal ebay message except for the auction number) . I was going to ask him which vehicle but it just flipped over to an error page. No big deal I thought. Next afternnon I go to check out my auctions AND they both have been hijacked. Dropped all the prices, changed only the pics and put a little burb about buying it now in the middle of the page with his email address (or a fake one as I never checked it out). Sure got some action on the greatly reduced prices. I contacted ebay and they cancelled the auctions and I changed all my passwords, even for online banking, paypal. etc. Fortunately, nothing has happened to jeopardize my passwords. Only thing I can think of is that he has already been blackballed from ebay and by using my handle and getting somebody to fall for the buy it now deal with his email, he would have made some fast cash. So if you are ever selling or buying on ebay, make sure you go back into "My Ebay" and respond to any questions thru there, not thru emails.
Scott, in PC World there was mention of a hole in eBay's code that allowed unscrupulous sellers to add just this sort of thing - it's not the "confirm bid" page that you are taken to. It's a "confirm your eBay ID" page that was written specifically for this type of scam.
The Wiz reported the auction the day it went up because he suspected the hole had been taken advantage of.
The post was probably hijacked from another seller.
The high price was to invite responses of the 'are you kidding' variety.
What they were after there were EBay account IDs with a higher seller rating than the one they already had. That would allow them to set up bogus auctions and get people to pay by wire transfer.
This is an archived discussion from the The MG Experience Forums
If you would like to post a reply, please click below to visit the The MG Experience Forums:MGB & GT Forum: Unique 1959 MGA convertable
Archive Index | The MG Experience Forums | Return to The MG Experience